Why Exactly I’m Letting “1000 Generations” Go

Last week, I announced on Twitter and Facebook that 1000 Generations is coming to close. We also released “The Last 3 Songs” that we’ve been working on, for absolutely free on NoiseTrade (to download it, click here). This week, I’d like to explain why exactly I’m moving on.

Let me start by saying that I love our tribe of 1000 Generations so freaking much. This truly has nothing to do with some internal struggle in the band. Over the years, we have truly become a family. I know them inside and out, and they me. We will continue to do life and music together, just not as “1000 Generations.” The reason we’re moving on is a bit a hairball, but I will try to peel back some of the layers for you.

The most focused and happy I felt with the band was probably around the time of releasing our 2nd album, “To Those Who Cry.” It felt pure. It felt honest. It was life-giving. Somewhere along the way though, I started getting caught up in “bigger, better, stronger, faster.” This became especially apparent to me after we started seeing some chart success at radio.

Getting radio was such a blessing. Yet for me, it seemed like all I did for a while was watch the charts to see where we were. I started having good days or bad days depending on our rise or fall. I hated it, and wasn’t feeling very good about myself either.

Around the same time, I started producing other artist friends of mine. I was having SO much fun. I wanted to get into this more, but never could find enough time.

I also started having a strong desire to go back to school to work on a Master’s of Science in Music Technology. I have always loved the nerdy, tech side of music just as much as the creative, emotional side. But we were on the road almost all the time.

I started losing passion for touring because my once clear, God-given mission with the band started getting hazy. What were we supposed to be doing? We tossed around a lot of good ideas but without a clear directive from God, I knew we were just floundering doing our own thing. I didn’t like this idea at all, and I know the other guys didn’t either.

Finally, Amanda and I started having this crazy desire to procreate. We noticed the world differently. We saw “families” for the first time, and wondered what that might look like for the two of us! There really is something to the whole “biological clock” thing I think. Prior to this, we really poured as many of our waking hours solely into 1000 Generations. That was our family.

All this started adding up until the day came that I just asked Amanda, “are we really supposed to continue 1000 Generations?” We’d worked so hard to establish a dream in our hearts, so even the thought of quitting seemed ridiculous. But I couldn’t shake the feelings. “What if it’s time to let it go?” Scary thoughts.

Around December 2011, Amanda and I got together with the rest of the band, and asked them what they thought we should all do. After going round and round for a few hours, we all came to the conclusion that without clear directives from God, 1000 Generations doesn’t make sense. It was bittersweet. It still is.

So what are we going to do now? First, we’re going to finish out this year strong as a band. We are thrilled about the upcoming events left on our calendar, and plan to put out a few more videos and things here and there. Apart from that, we’re not really sure. I know that I want to produce more artists, and spend more time with my amazing family (I also have this secret desire to release a children’s project that parents wouldn’t actually mind playing on car trips because the music is creative and good). We’ll just have to wait and see.

If you haven’t already, be sure to share “The Last 3 Songs” with your friends because they’re completely free. We did this as a way to say that we love you and sincerely appreciate you as one of the many who’ve supported us and our music throughout the years.

Keep watching as next week Amanda will release a YouTube video here sharing her heart behind writing one of the songs on the free release, “You Are Faithful.”

With love,
Steven

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theamericantraveler
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 08:37:31

    Dearest young friends, although you will be SORELY MISSED by your musical fans, your fans that have a feel for the individuals that each of you truly are realizes that truly, all good(great in my opinion) things must to pass….as Ecclesiastes points out….there are seasons and rhythms to life and the autumnal season of your fruitfulness as 1000 Generations is drawing to a close. Yet a new day and spring will come and new, different and just as exciting and heartrendingly poignant music will blossom forth….we await your spring with much anticipation.

    Wishing all of you the absolute best that life and love and friendships everywhere have in store for each of you as individuals and collectively….Steven and Amanda, I know you are wonderful parents, i wish you nothing but smiles, children’s wonderful laughter and the eagerness to learn and grow in your young charge…that she grow to imbue all of the VALUES which you hold dear….

    Lorin and Alain….may He continue to bless you both richly as musicians and guide and develop you as strong, shining and faithful examples of Christian men in your homes and communities.

    I can’t bring myself to say GOODBYE, It’s too final, so I’ll amend it as my friend Mr. Dee Hall says, — G’bye for only now!

    Your friend and fan forever,

    Morris Francis
    Columbus, Ohio

    Reply

  2. Steven Andy
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 20:35:16

    Thanks Morris. Beautiful words.

    Steven

    Reply

  3. Joshua Richardson
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 21:18:44

    I remember you guys from super summer and youth encounter. You have changed my life with your music! I will miss you guys dearly. :(

    Reply

  4. Steven Andy
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 10:24:33

    Thanks Josh. We may still do the occasional Youth Encounter. We love that!

    Reply

  5. Ben [Melbourne, Australia]
    May 02, 2012 @ 08:13:07

    Dear Steven and 1000 Generations. I just discovered you guys today. I was looking for a video clip to give some comfort to a good friend who is out of work, has health problems and has both of his parents battling cancer. I found your Vimeo clip of ‘Fail Us Not’ straight away and watched it teary eyed, and have sent the link on. It was just perfect. I have now just read that you guys are winding down!! But… you must follow where the Lord is leading you. It doesn’t mean your music will stop touching people. I am 38, and have 4 kids under 12. They are a blessing, and a lot of work at the same time, and they are my main ministry at the moment. You can’t half do it as you don’t get those years back again. Thanks so much for your music.

    Reply

    • Steven Andy
      May 02, 2012 @ 10:01:55

      Thanks Ben. May God be with you and your family. We pray that God would also bring encouragement, work, and health to your friend and his family.

      Steven

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

