Can Worship Be For US?

Why do we worship? Is it because of who God is or because of what He has and can do for us?

I think the healthy answer is “both.” Many times, however, I admit, that I worship Him because of what He has done and can do for me. Don’t get me wrong, this is not a bad thing at all. It’s important that we praise God for what He has done and for His amazing power to do awesome things in our lives. Yet, when we do not balance this with an attitude of praise simply because He is God and He is worthy, we will end up with a lopsided approach to worship.

I was recently convicted a while back when I showed Steven a new song that I was working on. The song had a great message…”God is faithful to save you, God is able to help you, look to Him for hope, etc, etc. ” Again, not a bad or untrue message whatsoever. But as Steven lovingly pointed out to me, “You know you write the same song over and over, don’t you?” At first I really took offense to this because it had genuinely been what was on my heart when I wrote it. Yet, as I stepped back and looked at the bigger picture, I realized he was right! All of my songs lately have been very “me” focused. In fact, I don’t think I’ve written a song in a while that hasn’t said the word “me” in it.

This realization prodded me in to even deeper thinking about why I don’t have anything on my heart that is just focused on the “you” aspect of God. To be honest, I think this is because I have become somewhat selfish in my worship. I rarely think about God and how awesome He is just because He is God. So I’ve been carving out space to do that…to acknowledge what I love about God that truly has nothing to do with me. For example, God, You are awesome because You make the sun rise everyday, because You lived a sinless life, because You gave Your only Son to die.

I think it is important for us all to carve out space and train our minds and hearts to worship God just for who He is. I’d LOVE to hear from you!!! What is it about God that you just find totally awesome?

-Amanda Lee

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jessi
    May 19, 2011 @ 08:24:12

    I totally hear you loud and clear, Amanda. It’s like, God is so amazing that even our time worshiping Him, He gives it back to us. While it is still about Him, He lets us have it. I know that I approach worship the same way, with a thankful, awestruck heart of how awesome and faithful our Father is. But, what ends up happening, is I do tend to personalize it and thank and worship Him specifically for the many blessings that are personal to me. I also end up getting so much out of worship, like God gave the time I set aside to worship Him completely back to me and I leave feeling even more blessed. Does that make sense?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

